About the Dublin Orchestral Players 
The Dublin Orchestral Players is a long established amateur Orchestra who gave their first public concert in Dublin on the 5th June 1940 under the baton of the late Havelock Nelson. The Orchestra was the brain-child of Constance Harding, David d’Oyly-Cooper, Brian Townsend and Havelock Nelson and he remained their Conductor until he left Dublin in1942 when he was succeeded by the late Brian Boydell who was conductor until 1966. In the 1950 and 1960’s there was a dearth of music and as the only amateur orchestra established at that time it was well supported giving many concerts in Dublin and in various venues around the Country. It also pioneered the bringing of orchestral music to Country schools. We are pleased to have worked under the direction of Fred O’Callaghan, Robert Houlihan, James Cavanagh, Fergus Sheil, Barra Boydell, John Finucane, and more recently, Principal Conductors have included David Brophy (1998-2001),  Adele O’Dwyer (2001), Cathal Garvey (2002-2006), Ciaran Crilly (2007-2015) and Andrew Synott (2015 - to date).

The Orchestra consists of a committed and happy bunch of amateur players who enjoy getting together once a week to make music. We are always looking for gifted players as soloists, offer a platform to budding conductors and would be enthusiastic to perform works by contemporary composers.

The orchestra celebrated it's 75th anniversary in 2015.


Brian Boydell Centenary 2017
Brian Boydell was born 100 years ago on the 17th March 1917. He was Professor of Music at Trinity College and was Conductor of the DOP from mid 1940s to 1966. After which he continued to guide us on our way as President for a great many years.  He died in November 2000.
John Bowman RTE Radio 1 8.30am 12th March 2017 played some interesting interviews with Brian and these can be listened to on RTE player. John Bowman is continuing with these on Sunday 19th March 2017.
There will also be a "Brian Boydell Conference" in TCD in June see https://boydell100.wordpress.com

© 2000 - 2017 powered by
Doteasy Web Hosting